The Maces

the mace

Originally used as a weapon of war, maces have become a symbol of authority and are so used at royal proclamations and at the State opening of Parliament. There are eight at the Tower, two of the period of Charles II, two of James II, three of William and Mary, and one bearing the arms of Queen Anne and the royal cypher of George I. Two of the maces are not normally on view because when Parliament is in session one is in the House of Commons and the other in the House of Lords.

Both comments and pings are currently closed.
Designed for England London